Faith, Hope and Healing.

As a mom, I’m always watching my kids. I watch them to make sure they are safe and happy. I watch them to make sure they use their manners. I watch them mostly when they are not feeling well – processing and analyzing a random sneeze or a cough. Was that just a nose tickle sneeze, the beginnings of an allergy onslaught or the makings of something worse?

Unfortunately, the signs aren’t always easy to read. I’ve been known to question my daughter’s behavior — looking for signs that prove she is indeed perfectly “normal.” I ask myself daily, if my husband and I stay the course of  thoughtful and consistent parents, will we be enough to help her grow into a self-assured woman of character? For me – at this moment in life – the answer is a simple, quiet “yes.” It seems strange to me that I question every life decision, but that this answer comes with ease and sureness.

Perhaps, that’s why I’ve been captivated by “The Possibility of Everything” by Hope Edelman. The memoir recounts a time when Hope’s 3-year old daughter was sick with a seemingly common childhood illness and spell bound by an imaginary friend. Racked by sickness and haunted by a pretend friend, her daughter would lash out.

My daughter is five and while she doesn’t have a pretend friend, she can make up a whopper of a story and has been known to go ballistic over socks, among other mundane issues. I’ve tried countless techniques in these moments of desperation (mine, not her’s) to extract some degree of reasonableness. She is many things – kind, loving, out spoken, free spirited, fun, smart. She is not reasonable.

During the most difficult moments, I’ve learned to stop, walk away and have faith – not only in the person she will become someday, but in the mother that I am today. Sometimes, that faith involves saying a Hail Mary. Other times, it involves evoking some inner can-do attitude.

To cure her daughter, Hope opened her heart and her mind to an ancient faith — the rituals, plants, and a Shaman of Belize. It was an unexpected leap for a New York-born Jewish girl. She doesn’t accept easily the Shaman (faith healer) ways. In fact, she is altogether resistant, but also filled with a dangerous mix of hope and desperation that will inspire a mother to embrace the promise and the possibility of anything.

I can appreciate Hope’s resistance, but I admire her ability to open a part of her heart where she keeps faith hidden away. While I process and debate my next move, I know it’s going to okay and maybe even great, because I have faith in our family and like Hope Edelman, I embrace the “possibility of everything.”

This post was inspired by Hope Edelman’s “The Possibility of Everything” as part of SV Moms Group Book Club. For travel buffs, you’ll be transported to Belize, where Hope weaves in the history of the ancient Mayan civilization, while detailing her families journey to a Central American rainforest.  Pick it up, sit yourself down and enjoy a story of motherhood, hope and healing.

One Response to “Faith, Hope and Healing.”

  1. Hope Says:

    Michele,
    This is such a nice post–thank you so much! So much of parenting relies on faith. And trust. It’s a journey, that’s for sure.
    Did you notice in the book that my sister’s name is also Michele with one L? Family legend says I chose it for her when I was three. It’s one of my favorite names.
    All best,
    Hope

Leave a Reply

