Bucket List Deadline: June 2019

I recently came to a horrifying realization.  My bucket list has a deadline.  8 years and 2 months to be exact.

I was content in thinking that my bucket list could exist existentially and, well, until I kicked the bucket.  This gave me all the time in the world to dream, plan and do all the wonderful things I want to do before I head North. 

Truth-be-told, a bucket list is a little cliché for me.  It’s like choosing books from the Oprah list.  Ugh.  Rather not.   So, up until recently, my “list” only existed in my head and I only talked about it during long car trips when I was bored out of my gored.

Then, as often is the case, a good book made me start thinking more about my life – and a concrete bucket list.  While reading a lovely memoir meets cookbook called “Lunch in Paris,” I was reminded of our three-week Euro trip in 2000 – pre-kids.  It was heaven.  And, it’s also something that we talk about more and more.  When should we go back with the kids?  What do we want them to see?  Which countries and how long?  France, of course, tops the list.

This has made me think A LOT about all the things I want to do with my kids before they are grown.  In fact, I finally confided my most secret desire to my hubs last week.  It went something like this.  “Honey, I really, REALLY want an RV.  Very soon, I might add.”  His response (or question, I should say)  went like this:  “Really?” 

I explained that we already have the fancy bike rack (which is relevant – yes, it is!). You can’t have an RV, unless you have the bike rack on the back, right?  That would be a rookie-RV maneuver.  It would be such a gift to travel to the National Parks and breath in nature  and all its wonder with the kids.  He just smiled … didn’t say a word. 

That’s when I realized that I do have a bucket list. In fact, “Lunch in Paris” and the random RV sighting unleashed a long list of must-dos.  Paris with the kids, an RV to countless national parks, a trip to DC, visits to Presidential libraries, saving for college (and more saving for college).

In only eight years, my son graduates from high school. Eight years isn’t enough time.  In fact, the thought of accomplishing it all in eight years is enough to give a pre-menopausal mother a bonafide panic attack.  It’s too soon. 

Thankfully, there are many things on my list that don’t require a spreadsheet and refinancing the homestead.  So, for now, I’ll continue to make homemade dinners and push the H2O consumption.  It’s an everyday challenge that leads to my ultimate bucket list “to do” — raising children who eat (and appreciate) real, whole foods.   I’m hoping eight years is long enough to accomplish this one!

By the way, the lady going through the drive-thru that looks just like me … she’s my illegitimate half, real twin sister, who relishes making vision board for her friends.

This post was inspired by Lunch in Paris, the April pick for the From Left to Write Book Club. A complimentary copy of this book was provided to me by the publisher. My two cents – Lunch in Paris was a true delight – equal parts romance/sweet memoir and fab-o recipes that brought out the “Frenchy” in me.  For the love of cheese!!

7 Responses to “Bucket List Deadline: June 2019”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Hi Michelle, First I’d like to thank you for your lovely comment on my blog. Second, ditto–a before they leave home/bucket list is a GREAT idea. It all goes by so fast, doesn’t it? You’ve inspired me to make the most of it. Melissa

  2. Lisa Says:

    I think taking your kids to DC is a great item on your list. My parents never took me and I feel like it’s not the kind of trip I would take on my own as an adult or with a group of friends. If I’m going on vacation now, I need a break on a beach.

    My husband did DC a couple of times with his parents and has great memories. Now, I’m just waiting 15 years or so and then I can finally go!

  3. Michelle Says:

    It is absolutely shocking to me how little time we really do have before our children are … no longer children. There will never be enough time, but I can only hope that the time we do have is well used. It sounds like yours is. And right now? I need to go get myself a glass of water!

  4. Lunch in Paris by Elizabeth Bard – A From Left to Write Book Club | Says:

    [...] Michele of  Read Out Loud sets a deadline for her bucket list [...]

  5. Emily Says:

    Not to bum you out, but to further encourage you and others to live your bucket list as soon as you can. I’m not dead, but my illnesses and the poverty that comes with them pretty much make a bucket list impossible.

    My biggest dream is to be able to take my child to Disney World and hope that he will be able to travel on his own as he gets older.

    On your RV trip, be sure to check out Bryce Canyon. The most beautiful thing I have ever seen, besides my child.

  6. Brandi Says:

    My bucket list is kind of like yours…they are things that can be attained, it’s just about finding the time to do it. Oh, and really, making homemade dinners regularly is a heck of an accomplishment!

  7. Lunch in Paris Says:

    My husband and I are in the process of making a ‘US bucket list’ – things we want to do in the States. To be honest, with all of his business travel, my French husband has seen more of my country than I have…Savannah, New Orleans, The Grand Canyon, Giant Redwoods, Heart Castle, Pilchuck Glass School in Washington State, and I want to go back to the Rothko Chapel in Houston…the list just keeps getting longer and longer…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

