You can bake shrimp? Who knew…

With the amount of blogging I do about food and dinner prep, you’d think that I was some wanna-be foodie, right?!  Nope. 

I try really, really hard to eat healthy.  If I had it in me, I’d have my own garden and supplement it with fresh fruits/veggies from nearby farms.  Maybe I’d even buy a pig or a cow and big hunkin’ freezer to put it all in.  Of course, there would be canning too.

Alas I digress … because buying a cow is so far from my reality.  In fact, I’m likely to skip a meal to squeeze in a few extra minutes of work.  Or, skip a meal simply so I don’t have to figure out something to eat and then, stop what I’m doing to prepare and eat it.  Sounds incredibly lazy, I know.  Simply put –  good cooking and healthy eating are time consuming.

I’ve been trying to shake myself out of a spaghetti rut – attempting unreal recipes that I can make in real life.  When my sister-in-law recently called on a Friday night to chat, I was attempting to do just that – create a gourmet meal for my family.  Before she even asked “whatchadoing,” I blurted out, “You guys should come over.  I’m making the best meal e-v-e-r and it’s going to be too good to waste on the kids.” 

Boy, was I right.  I made “Baked Mediterranean Shrimp” from Myra Goodmans’ cookbook “The Earthbound Cook.”  I didn’t even know it was possible to BAKE shrimp.  It had all of my favorite things – Kalamata olives, feta cheese, capers, tomatoes, pasta.   Oh yeah, it had shrimp too.  It was fabulous.   

I don’t remember which parts of the meal my kids ate, because I didn’t care.  I was in food heaven!   In fact, the entire evening was perfect.  After dinner, we pulled out a deck of cards and taught my sister-in-law to play hearts.  Amid lots of laughter, our husbands schooled us in cards while the kids played in the background.  Really, there’s nothing better than closing the “to do” list in the top drawer and opening up our house to good food, a deck cards and a highball (or two) with my favorite in-laws. 

Disclosure:  I received a complimentary copy of “The Earthbound Cook:  250 Recipes for Delicious Food and A Healthy Planet.”  If you would like to read more blog posts inspired by “The Earthbound Cook,” please visit From Left to Write online book club.

3 Responses to “You can bake shrimp? Who knew…”

  1. Nicole Says:

    Sounds wonderful…I too invited a few people over, as I was tired of cooking up new wonderful recipes to have my children reject them :) That shrimp sounds so yummy.

  2. The Earthbound Cook by Myra Goodman – A From Left to Write/This Week for Dinner Cookbook Club | Says:

    […] Michele Spring Fajeau from Read Out Loud says there is nothing better than closing the to-do list and opening her house to good food […]

  3. Melissa Says:

    Nothing like a good meal to bring a family together. Sounds lovely!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

